Exaro News Archive Exaro’s Editor-in-Chief nominated for European Press Prize

Exaro’s Editor-in-Chief nominated for European Press Prize


Exaro’s Editor-in-Chief nominated for European Press Prize

By Exaro Team | 11 January 2013

Exaro Editor-in-Chief Mark Watts has been shortlisted in the editor’s category of the inaugural ‘European Awards for Journalism’.

The European Press Prize, formed by seven European media foundations, set up the awards to encourage high-quality journalism, in print and online, across all 47 countries of the continent.

The awards committee said: “Exaro is an insightful, agenda-setting website. Moreover, Watts has probably found a viable business model for serious investigative journalism. This is not standard, not-for-profit journalism, but document-based, niche performance at a high level of expertise.”

Exaro launched in October 2011. Watts leads a team of more than 30 journalists investigating stories that are being inadequately covered – or ignored – by the mainstream media.

Another British finalist for the ‘Editing Award’ is Jason Cowley of the New Statesman. The other editors shortlisted are Torry Pederson, of Norwegian newspaper, VG; Ihor Pochynok, of Express in Ukraine; Adam Reichardt, of New Eastern Europe Quarterly based in Poland.

The shortlist was drawn up by a panel chaired by Peter Preston, former editor of The Guardian.

Sir Harold Evans, editor-at-large for Thomson Reuters and editor of The Sunday Times when it campaigned for thalidomide victims, will lead a group of judges to decide on the winners on January 26 .

The European Press Prize

Related Story

Sarah Davies
Sarah Davieshttps://www.exaronews.com/
Exaro News investigates matters of public interest and seeks to uncover the truth.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest news

Canadians Targeted in Debit Card Fraud, Check Your Bank Statements

A number of Canadians have been affected by debit card fraud in the past 30-days despite never having used...

Marshall County Man Convicted of Federal Cyberstalking and Gun Crime

A Marshall County man was convicted Thursday afternoon of cyberstalking as well as a federal gun violation following a...

Former Employee Of Hospital Pleads Guilty To Compromising Dozens Of Hospital Computers And Coworkers’ Email Accounts And Stealing Their Confidential Information

Geoffrey S. Berman, the United States Attorney for the Southern District of New York, announced that RICHARD LIRIANO...

Foundry Group is Bringing The Helium Network to Boulder

Foundry Group have decided to bring the Helium Network to Boulder. They’ve ordered 50 hotspots and, with your help,...

Must read

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you